Systema--Translation.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I gather Systema translates to "system" in English, but is there any other martial context? For example, the Okinawan te or Chinese chuan translate as hand or fist but the connotation is more "boxing", i.e., a system of hand-to-hand fighting. Is there such a connotation to Systema? Does it sound like a general term for a boxing method to a native Russian speaker?

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Systema means The System and is quite a generic term...much like saying Karate or Wushu.

Is that the type of answer you were asking for?

OP
A

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Jay Bell

Systema means The System and is quite a generic term...much like saying Karate or Wushu.

Is that the type of answer you were asking for?

Sort of--if I said, in Russian to a Russian, that I studied Systema, would they understand that a fighting system is meant? If you said to a Chinese in Chinese that you studied chuan (fist) then presumably they'd understand you meant that you studied a form of Chinese boxing; if you said to an Okinawan that you studied te (hand) they'd know you meant a form of fighting (maybe this is less true nowadays than it was a hundred years ago). They wouldn't think that by "hand" you meant that you were artist or carpenter or someone else who works with their hands, whereas if you said in English that you studied "hand" most people wouldn't know what that meant. Id I said I studied Systema, might people think I meant a political or business system or would it be clear that a form of boxing, for want of a better word, was meant?

Klondike93

Master Black Belt
Reaction score