Systema in Indiana and my first trip to Toronto

Juzaofthecloud

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Systema (I only have videos and no school instruction) and had a few beginner questions.

1. Are there any schools in Indiana? I remember seeing Al Mcluckie listed on the RMA website but his listing isn't there anymore and no other schools are listed. There were some training partners listed there for my area, but what's the difference between a training partner and Instructor? I am assuming level of experience/expertise and certification obviously, but would appreciate your advice on which would be most favorable for a beginner.

2. I am going to be in Toronto in May and I will have the opportunity to train at Vladimir Vasilievs school and would like any general tips for a first timer. How good should my physical condition be before attending, or is it not really about that sort of thing? Just wonder if I should work on the cardio and endurance a bit more from now on? It never hurts anyway right.

Thanks for any advice.

RachelK

Purple Belt
Reaction score
The schools are listed here http://www.russianmartialart.com/main.php?page=affiliates so if there isn't one listed in Indiana, then regrettably, there isn't one in Indiana. But there might be someday, or at least a seminar in the general vicinity. Keep an eye on the Announcements board http://www.russianmartialart.com/main.php?page=afs_announce for upcoming seminars.

Training partners are other students; they are not usually certified instructors but people looking to practice with others. Often these people do not have regular access to Systema instructors. I would recommend that you get yourself listed on the training partners page. You could also try posting to the forum; maybe someone knows of other aspiring students in your neck of the woods.