Submission Match

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Their is a submission wrestling match coming up this weekend I am seriously considering entering. It sounds like striking won't be allowed, throwing and pinning are, but you can't win with them. Hence the submission title, I guess.

My taekwondo isn't going to play much of a factor, other than the fitness it gives me and understanding my body. But I've been training in Judo and Jujutsu for about three years each now and every once in a while I get cocky and think I know a thing or two. In case it helps anybody with strategy tips, I'm 6'5'' (2 m)and about 340 lbs (154 kgs).

Just wondering if anybody's got some advice?

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, if it is this weekend, my advise is don't listen to any advice. Keep doing exactly what you are doing.

Trying to make a change to your game plan this close will only make things go bad. Do what you are good at and fight the way you usually do.

OP
bignick

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Andrew Green said:
Well, if it is this weekend, my advise is don't listen to any advice. Keep doing exactly what you are doing.

Trying to make a change to your game plan this close will only make things go bad. Do what you are good at and fight the way you usually do.

Yeah basically my plan any ways, but you never know when a good tip will swing your way.