Stupid Database Questions

OP
J

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
mantis said:
i've been working with databases for like 2 years and I have NEVER heard of any of whatever you listed. we use SQL SERVER 2000, Oracle, mySql, Sybase, MS Access. we ususally write database scripts which include all the commands, queries, the tables, constraints, relationships, foreign and primary keys and so on. I do have a great MS SQL Server 2000 tutorial that I can email you maybe just PM me your email address if you want to take a look at it.

Thanks, but I'm not up to learning a new database - even if it is modern. You make me feel old! LOL :>).The PC magazines were full of these programs in my day... and the Internet was a curiosity for those who could afford 1200 baud modems.

OUMoose

Trying to find my place
Reaction score
Jonathan Randall said:
Thanks, but I'm not up to learning a new database - even if it is modern. You make me feel old! LOL :>).The PC magazines were full of these programs in my day... and the Internet was a curiosity for those who could afford 1200 baud modems.
That's it. Bob, can we put up an old BBS? :D Have to dial in to it even. :) This newfangled technology is spoiling everyone! :)

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
Borland is still in business but I think they underwent a name change awhile ago, to something like Inprise, but then I think they changed back. They still make a C++ compiler but their biggest claim to fame these days is probably Delphi, a version of ObjectPascal with some RAD tools. I used it maybe three years ago in wrapping a Windows based UI around some Python command-line programs that did bioinformatics analysis

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
these are object-oriented programming languages, not object-oriented "databases".
This means you can store the database functions, stored procedures and relationships in classes where you can instantiate throughout your code.