Strength Training Routines ~ Capoeira

SnugB

White Belt
Reaction score
I am a beginner to Capoeira & finding it diffucult to master supporting my own body weight in order to do things like cartwheels & handstands etc. I have been strength training for a few years & I have considerable muscle tone yet I still cannot do a pullup. Any suggestions as to what kinds of routines are helpful in building strength/lean muscle mass as opposed to bulk? I find that when I lift too much I am bogged down. I recently began running & that is also affected by strength training...I haven't lifted in a while because it was making me feel weighted down but I want to maintain the results I acheived thus far. I also need more flexibility as the strength training has left me extremely tight. HELP!!!

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Stop weight training with heavy weights. If you use weights, use lighter weights and more reps. Really, limit your weights to only a minimum at most.

Focus on exercises that utilize lifting, supporting, and manipulating your own body weight. This is how you will develop USEFUL strength, that works in capoeira, vs. bulky strength that often doesn't translate well into what you want to do with it. Also, being able to perform most of the techniques in capoeira, including the floreiros, is much more a matter of developing the proper sense of balance. Strenght can help, but balance and leverage is key. I have known many terrific capoeiristas who are not big, heavily muscled guys. They are often very toned, and are quite strong, but not bulky. They get this way from training the art, and doing the movements. As you train, you will develop the strength that you need to a level that is useful, without overdeveloping it.