Sparring -

Raewyn

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Im new to sparring and already I feel frustrated. When sparring how do you stop yourself from hitting your self in the head with your gloves, when someone hits your gloves? Do you actually need to hold your guard higher and have your gloves touching your head?? Whats the go with this??? How do you stop the attcker from punching through your guard, Im ahaving trouble with especially sparring against men. please help!!!:idunno:

T

tmanifold

Here is my take on this but this is a little off the status quo. In MMA sparring a close guard like in boxing is of little use. You don't have those big gloves to hide behind. I put my hands out a little farther as it gives me a little wiggle room if I am a touch slow. Your lead hand should definatly not touch your head but putting yur rear hand on your cheek is all right.
Concentrate on parrying, head movement and shielding. By shielding, I mean quick covers in response to specific attacks. The two most common for me were a vertical elbow sheild, where you basically grab the back of your head with your hand and use the bent < shape of your arm as a sheild for a head blow. The other one I used alot was alot quicker but not as strong. If the attack came from the left side, shrug your left shoulder up as you tuck you head down (chin in to your collar bone) and bring the right hand up to cover whats left of your head. It short and fast but like I said not as strong.

It is really all about head and body movement. Side to side and change levels.

Baoquan

Blue Belt
Reaction score
tmanifod is dead on...give yourself a little more room in the guard, and try to slip/evade punches more that "blocking" them. Its much easier to nudge an arm a few inches away from its intended target (especially if the intended target has moved away from where it was) than to stop it dead.

Tony

Black Belt
Reaction score