sparring: the secret ingredient to becoming a fighter?

Lestat83

White Belt
Reaction score
I just wanted to put down my thoughts on becoming a better fighter in general in the martial arts...i am fairly new to Wing Tchun...i am from a non associated Leung Ting school in the UK that does sparring. I wanted to see if people spar and how important it is for your development as a martial artists...?

Ok this post will upset people i have no doubt about that, but thats really not my intention here.
I wanted to talk about several things that are trained during sparring...the right attitude...confidence under fire...the use of agression.

In wing chun theres a saying:
"press forward when the way is open" which means when there is an opening or when you are not being attacked:

Find an opening and exploit
create an opening and exploit

You will never win a war by being the victim, by waiting for bombs to drop on you.
You win a war by dropping bombs on the enemy and damaging targets.
Every chance you give an opponent to drop a bomb, the more likely will get hit. The more likely you will loose.

Maybe i cant see the whole picture but from my experience the only way to train the aggressive attitude, the fearlessness of being hit, the confidence to press forward and finish off your opponent is through sparring. What i see is when people dont spar: there defences collapse under furious assaults and they simply dont know how to handle someone swinging at them psychologically or physically. Even worse when they get hit their training goes out the window.

People who dont spar dont understand or know how to use aggression...how to wage a war with their fists on a non compliant opponent.
Because of a lack of confidence/experience/the right attitude... they are passive when they spar for the first time and i see them overwhelmed by furious assaults cause they wait there for an invitation to attack their opponent with the intention of actually stopping him.