sources of power

JD_Nelson

Green Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
I am a new student to all martial arts. I am working towards my yellow belt in American Kenpo.

Kenpo Power principles.

My instructor put this question to the class for the basics. I would like to get additional insight as well.

How are you generating power in Delayed Sword?

Principles to think about:
  • A. Anchoring:
  • B. Back-up-mass:
  • C. Body Rotation:
  • Borrowed Force:

Salute:

JD_Nelson aka Pratt

OP
J

JD_Nelson

Green Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
I answered my instructor with this reply....

1. Delayed Sword is vs. a right-handed push/punch/grab to your upper torso.
Experiment with each of these variables: what would happen if his grab made
contact? How would it alter what you do? How would your actions (step/block
- kick - chop) affect his body position differently?

The execution of Delayed Sword would remain the same. That I think is the underlying principle. Step back & block, thrusting kick then outward hand sword to the neck.

The step back performs @ least two purposes.

1. It creates distance between the attacker and yourself. This allows room for the execution of the block, kick, & hand sword.

2. The step also allows one to establish a good solid base. We all should know a good foundation begins with the base!! With the step, one should also establish his/her own heighth zone. With the proper stance, you get a good anchoring of the buttocks. (This is something that has been refreshed in my mind due to this letter.)