Sorry to beat a dead horse, but ...

P

PTWolf77

I would like suggestions from you experienced martial artists. I would like to start martial arts again (I took shorin - ryu for 1 1/2 years) about 10 years ago. I moved away from the area of the dojo and never restarted. I want an art that will give me effective self-defense. I do not need the arts for fitness; I am a personal fitness trainer and in good shape. I also do not want to do a lot of conditioning at the beginning of a class (no thousands of pushups, jumping jacks, etc.). I don't mind an art with a spiritual side; however I already have a daily yoga practice. I live in the New York City area and have access to a wide range of disciplines. I visited an aikido class, the school was great and the instructor friendly, but I am not sure how effective aikido is for self-defense. Does anyone have suggestions for an art that I should check out further?

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Dead horses need to be beaten...it tenderizes the meat. :) Aikido can be an effective art for self defense BUT it is not an art where practical self defense will be something that happens quickly. There is indeed a spiritual side to aikido (although some more than others) and the conditioning is minimal. Aikido has been called "an old man's art" before. If you're in the NY area try out Sensei MacEwen in Middletown, NY. He teaches Nihon Goshin Aikido. Less to the spiritual side, more to the street defense side. Granted I'm a bit biased to this style as it is the one I study.

I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong (and quickly do so) but most of the striking arts that I'm familiar with require a good bit of conditioning to keep up the raw power needed to make some of the techniques work properly.

Good luck and enjoy the hunt.

rutherford

Master Black Belt
Reaction score