Soo Bahk Do Non-Contact Sparring, Should It Evolve to Light/Medium Contact?

Rumy73

Black Belt
Reaction score
Soo Bahk Do's free sparring and tournment sparring, I feel, leaves much to be desired. While I appreciate the emphasis on control and executing with proper form, the lack of contact is problematic, because it is like practicing holding a gun but never firing it. I am not talking having two people bash one another. Rather, I think learning to guard against a real attack and delivering strikes requires at least light contact. Facing "danger" is an important element in growing as a martial artist and as a practioner of self defense. While non-contact sparring is great for building control (and should be practiced), making contact with a moving target - that is also trying to strike you - is a lesson like no other.

As a martial artist I reflected on what SBD had done for me and my skills, and I felt a void. With a little reluctance, I moved on to Taekwondo. My teacher greatly respects traditional aspects of SBD, but encourages looking at things from other perspectives. When I began doing contact sparring, I got real education. I quickly realized how hard certain traditional techniques are to use against a moving target. I gained a healthy respect for distance and moving into the "danger zone" with courage. The purity and beauty of SBD movement is not part of the equation, but practical, efficient offense and defense is on tap.​

I expressed these feelings to my TKD teacher. He stated that traditional technique has a place but so does newer approaches. A martial artist should be open to embracing both and investigate how and when to apply them.​

So I am wondering how others feel? Is there any frustration with SBD's non-contact sparring? What approaches or roads, if others feel like I do/did, did you take?​