So, time to open a full studio?

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've been toying with this idea for the last 3 years and have a couple of good opportunities to open a full studio locally.

Here's the basic idea:
- Family portraits with an old time feeling.
- Kid shots in unique kid friendly environment
- Boudoir shots for women looking to capture a special moment.
- Pet friendly environment.
- Limited Event coverage with on location photo printing and direct burn to cd offered.

Basic shots would start in the $10-15 per sheet range. (Sheet is 1 8x10, 2 5x7's, or 8 wallets)
Nominal sitting fee $20
Specialty effects would be available at an additional cost.

Specialty Sessions such as Bridal and Masters portraits available at a premium.

We would have a loyalty club which gives some discounts on purchases, special offers, and free sittings.

We would not be doing weddings.

Studio would feature 2-4 shooting areas, 1 larger one capable of handling larger groups, and 1-3 'theme' rooms for seasonal and specialty shoots.

So, thoughts? If you were local to me, would you use my studio?

Thanks.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was going to jokily say "No, because my missus is a photographer!" but then thought again as it is not just your services as the 'shooter' that you are selling but the studio space to shoot in. Something with high ceilings would certainly attract me for a shoot of me in "Iai Mode" :D.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have a very good friend whom I used to belong to a photography club with. She went pro, I didn't (well, I did semi-pro for awhile). She is doing VERY WELL, despite having to relocated *hubby in military* several times. I suggest you speak with her; use my name so she knows. I'll bet she'll help you!!!

http://jacquelynnbuck.blogspot.com/

http://www.jacquelynnbuck.com/

MJS

Administrator