Shuri-Ryu Karate

SGT_GRUNT_USMC

White Belt
Reaction score
I am new to this board,but not not new to MA.I seriously want to study MA again, after a 7 year hiatus (except for some self training and military H2H).
There is a new Shuri-Ryu Dojo in my area,that I'm thinking of starting training at.I talked to the instructor and I like what he had to say about the style and thier training and I'm going to observe a class this week.I'm looking for any input from anyone that trains in Shuri-Ryu what the style entails and how they like it.Any input would be appreciated as I have very little knowledge of this style.Also This school is affiliated with the ISKA in Phoenix (Robert Trias).

Semper Fi,

S

supernix

I am not sure how your sensei will be but when I took it I found it to be very complete.
For each belt I earned I had to perform kihons as well as ippons and kata and learn one weapon kata as well. My particular dojo had an instructor that taught hakko ryu jujutsu so I ended up with a very complete martial arts training experience. It has been at least a decade since I took Shuri Ryu karate and all the techniques that I learned have helped me greatly in my study of Shotokan.

Here is a listing of the requirements from beginner to shodan:
http://www.shuri-ryu.com/require.htm
as stated earlier you will see they are most likely different than where I trained and where you are intending on training as well.
Hope that helps

I

Ippon Ken

Oh boy. I don't want you to take this wrong, but Shuri Ryu is karate, just not the karate it claims to be. Being a Marine have you ever heard of Okinawan Karate? Well Shuri ryu will claim it is this, but it isn't. It's an American karate style made up of several philosophies by a guy named Robert Trias who was famous for "hyperbole".