Should I tell my coaches about my social anxiety?

sadbjj

White Belt
Reaction score
I have signed up to go to a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class as a behavioural experiment for Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) and need to fill out a form. It is asking if i have any disabilities, illnesses or relevant health concerns my coaches should know about.

Should they know about it? Should I tell them I'm having CBT? Should I write in the form that I have Social Anxiety Disorder?

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Speaking as a BJJ instructor, I would find that info helpful when teaching a student. It would help me make any necessary adjustments to make sure you had the best experience in class.

However, I have a decent amount of experience interacting with people who suffer from social anxiety off the mats and am comfortable making those sorts of adjustments. Not all BJJ gym cultures are the same and not all BJJ instructors have the same sort of philosophy in teaching students with certain types of challenges. I know other instructors who would do a very good job of using that info to help you in your training journey and others who ... probably wouldn't.

If your social anxiety is severe enough so that you think it might affect your training, then I would go ahead and disclose it. If it turns out that you are trying out a gym with an instructor who doesn't have a helpful attitude in dealing with it, then it's probably best to find that out early on so that you can look for a different school that might fit your needs better.

HighKick

Black Belt
Reaction score
Absolutely include the info. In no way is it a judgement. Just information to help both instructor and practitioner get the most out of the training. If it makes you feel more comfortable, have a one-on-one conversation. This would hopefully assuage any concerns and give you a better understanding of the instructor's personality.

KenpoMaster805

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score