Seminar Promotion Issues

ManOfVirtues

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Maybe someone more experienced could assist with some issues I am having.

Through a very and I mean VERY elaborate attempt to draw attention to an upcoming seminar with some of the greatest names in the form, we seem to be falling on our face (so to speak).

I am a web developer by trade and spent quite a bit of time and money building, collecting email addresses of potential attendees, suffering a 35% inquiry rate, and a 0% registration rate with less then two months remaining before the event.

When promoting a seminar are there certain steps you take to insure attendance?

Maybe someone would care to critique my marketing methods.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
A 35% inquiry rate to unsolicited mail is, probably, about the norm.

Registrations may come in at the last minute. Many people don't make a decision until they get closer to the date.

Other than that ... <<shrugg>> ... do you have a link to the seminar posted on this board?

OP
ManOfVirtues

ManOfVirtues

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
There is a link posted on every martial arts forum I can think of in thier seminars section.

https:://www.shiroitora.org/RSVP/

the application I wrote is still in its infant stages, but is functional none the less.

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Back when i promoted some fairly big seminars, i traveled the circuit first and made a lot of connections with people that would be interested in attending. I gradually built a mailing list. I made sure I had an instructor come in that would be a good draw and tried to pick a good location.

Every year that i promoted seminars (about 10 years) the registrations mostly came in during the last few days before the seminar and quite a few showed up at the door. Every year I sweat it out but every year i ended up doing fine.

I hope this helps!

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Well, I will say this ...