Self Training...

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Martial_Maniac

I know someone who is a "self-taught" sword practitioner. I was just wondering about your feelings on teaching yourself. I personally think you should learn an art like swordsmanship from someone who is qualified to teach it and not try to teach yourself.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I think most people on this board would agree with you.

I have run into several self-described "ronin" who are out practicing based on such authoritative sources as Highlander, Excaliber, or the Last Samurai. (I might have forgiven them if he knew who Toshiro Mifune was. :D ) My only exception to this general rule is to those scholars out there who are currently working on recreating the historical European martial arts.

Lamont

OP
M

Martial_Maniac

i am not at all changing my opinion, but just to point out, Miyamoto Musashi claims to have been completely self-taught and he is , in my opinion, the greatest swordsman in history.

Paul B

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I do believe Musashi was taught traditional swordsmanship by his father,then struck out on his own at the tender age of 12-13(?)..by any means a virtuoso.

I can't really remember the exact age,hopefully one of our scholars could give you a better answer. The point is,he didn't just decide to start swinging a sword around and decide to take on challengers. The "basics" came from somewhere.

*edit* Thanks Charles,I posted over you.

OP
M

Martial_Maniac

Sorry but I should have been more clear. I know he wasn't completely self-taught and yes, his father did teach him swordsmanship when he was a boy. I just meant that he didnt have a "master" to whom he credited his skills.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score