Sekf Learning in martial art.

UqaabKamikaze

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Let me tell you first the reason for to join this forum is to be continuously moivated as people share their training experiences and stories. Coming to the point, I totally new to practical martial art, I never learnt it but I studied martial art only because I was madly in love with it from childhood and wanted to learn but back then and now I do not have reach to real martial art institutions, around me are just frauds and I do not expect to move to a place where I can find one any soon due to my job. So, I got attracted by some channels on YouTube for online learning, what I want to ask you is whether one can really learn martial art by just watching videos. I not impatient as I have been just practicing front push kick for four month along with jab and thrust knee and elbow. I am doing this but since no one is there to tell me when to stop and start new technique I have no confidence to whether or not I can use them in a competetion. And most importantly footwork, I face great difficulty while practicng foot work.
I am referring kwonkickers and Shane fazen's channels.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Basically, you're not going to learn much by video without a real instructor. Textbooks and videos are pretty much worthless alone.
Can you learn in this way? Maybe. A little. But it'll take you much longer and a lot (most?) of what you learn will be done incorrectly.

Justin Chang

Orange Belt
Reaction score