Scottish Mace Throwing -- feedback please!

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
What I hate about autofocus...the second picture with the airborne thingy, the guy is fuzzy and the back ground sharp...And it had the best composition.

Ok, nitpicking done.

Interesting event.

Nice series of shots.

(does your camera have a sport setting?)

OP
Carol

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
What I hate about autofocus...the second picture with the airborne thingy, the guy is fuzzy and the back ground sharp...And it had the best composition.

Ok, nitpicking done.

Interesting event.

Nice series of shots.

(does your camera have a sport setting?)

Yes, that was the sport setting. This is my first attempt at action shots so I have much to learn :)

I was thinking the exact same thing about autofocus. The middle two pictures when the mace is in the air were both extremely fast, 1/1250 sec...and he is blurry! I need to get better (read: FASTER) at manipulating the auto focus so it stays focused on a particular point.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Doesn't seem to tell the story to me... Nice pics, but without knowing more, it's just a Scottish drum major.

OP
Carol

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Doesn't seem to tell the story to me... Nice pics, but without knowing more, it's just a Scottish drum major.

Not sure if there is much more to tell, other than this was a competition at the NH Highland Games. I had never attended such an event before.

When large metal objects come hurtling through the air towards my head, my instinct is to duck :D I admire their bravery :)

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Is this an American Scottish thing as I've been to Highland Games in Scotland ( used to live there) and I've not seen it. I've seen something similiar on the Orange Band marches but they are political so haven't watched them for fun only work.

Jenna