Sanchin Ryu

white belt

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hello Esteemed Karateka,

I'm a TKD Instructor / school owner in the Midwest. Recently I was made aware of a style of Karate being sold here in town called "Sanchin Ryu". The sylabus apparently is sold as "non-competitive" w/o free sparring. I have some schooling on Okinawan Karate history but, I thought Sanchin was the name of a rather important foundational kata, not an actual Ryu or style from Okinawa. The school selling this is known as a belt factory that got its inertia starting with TKD. The owner has everything but drive up windows at his schools. Is this another hot dog for the rubes or something legit that I am uninformed about. Smells fishy.

Thanks,
white belt

A

A.R.K.

Sanchin is indeed a foundational Kata in Okinawan karate. Kanbun Uechi is credited with bringing this Kata from China's Fukein providence. He once stated 'to know Sanchin is to know karate'. Sanchin is also used I believe in other Okinawan disciplines although a bit different in form.

I have never heard of Sanchin Ryu and your initial intuition may be very accurate.

Try the direct route...ask the school owner and see what he says.

:asian:

A

angrywhitepajamas

Is this the same sanchin ryu that was being toted from louisiana missouri and alabama??? If it is , my teachers hgave already checked it out. They did not think it was traditional enough or legit. They only mentioned the style in passing though.

OP
W

white belt

Brown Belt
Reaction score