Ryukyu Hon Kenpo Karate Do

L

Lucy Rhombus

Hello! Arnisador suggested I head over here and describe the style of karate I'm studying. I'll do my best.

It's called ryukyu hon kenpo karate do or ryukyu hon kenpo kobujutsu. Ryuku means "Okinawan," and hon means "original." I believe it's related to Okinawan kenpo, and it's taught at only 14 dojos worldwide.

In our school there are two levels each of yellow and orange, one of blue, then two of green, three of brown, and 10 of black (I'm a first level orange belt).

I've been reading the threads about the different kata, and don't recognize many of them. Some of the ones I remember seeing in our dojo are naihanchi shodan, naihanchi nidan, naihanchi sandan, pinan nidan, pinan sandan, pinan godan, pinan yondan, passai, seisan, wansu.

I went to one of the kata sites mentioned in another thread (a Danish site) and watched Quicktime versions of naihanchi shodan, nidan, and sandan. Though many of the moves are the same, in our style there is more economy of movement. In the video clips, the kata had a lot of wide, sweeping movements and windups that we don't do.

We also work with weapons. So far I'm learning one bo kata (shihonuke) and one hanbo kata (hanbo). At more advanced levels, we start using tonfa, nunchaku, kama, sai, and other weapons. The sensei offers a weapons class once a week, and I'm on the waiting list.

I've done my best to describe the style of karate I'm studying. Anyone interested in learning more can visit my dojo's Web site:Branchaud Dojo. There's a lot of information there, including a full list of kata.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Lucy Rhombus

Hello! Arnisador suggested I head over here and describe the style of karate I'm studying. I'll do my best.