Requirements to start Hapkido

PhotonGuy

Senior Master
Reaction score
I know not all schools that teach Hapkido will do this but I once knew of a school that taught both Tae Kwon Do and Hapkido. In order to train in Hapkido at that school first you had to get a black belt in Tae Kwon Do there. I do know that Hapkido does use some of the techniques from Tae Kwon Do but to even start as a white belt in Hapkido at that school you first had to get a black belt in their Tae Kwon Do. I wonder if other schools have that same requirement.

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have no idea why a school would do that other than to keep a student longer and get more money. Tae Kwon Do is by no means a prerequisite for Hapkido, nor vice versa. If there is any other reason I hope someone can explain it.

I would beg to differ with you that Hapkido uses some techniques from Tae Kwon Do. I studied Tae Kwon Do briefly under Jhoon Goo Rhee in the sixties. I never learned techniques as such, nor did I see any taught to higher belts. To say either art took things from the other would require verifiable documentation, considering both are fairly recent arts. However, I was told by a student of mine that some of the Hapkido techniques I taught, he was able to recognize as movements in Tae Kwon Do kata. He stated that they appeared to have to no (other that the stated reason \of 'art') use until he learned the Hapkido technique.

Which art used those first, and why their meaning has been lost in at least some Tae Kwon Do, I cannot say.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've found it reasonably common that a TKD school teaches (some) HKD as part of its self-defense curriculum. There's a variety of TKD styles and those taht don't teach locking and do emphasize sports seem to be the ones most likely to add HKD to round things out. But I haven't seen it be a prereq. before.