Remy vs Ernesto

C

Cyco56

I was wondering, what is the (main) difference between Remy Presas Modern Arnis and Ernesto Presas Kombatan?

/Cyco56

ace

Master of Arts
Reaction score
This is a good question i wish i had the answer???????

Does any one know or are they the same
:argue:
Please someone tell us the answer
:asian:
Primo

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on Ernesto Presas' style, but I understand one difference is a much greater emphasis on double stick techniques.

OP
D

DWright

I had the opportunity to attend a Grandmaster Ernesto seminar in June, and found it to be vastly different from the Professors style.

During the training heavy emphasis was placed on double canes, and ground techniques. There was alot of kiai/kihap (yelling) also. I don't remember ever hearing much yelling at Professors training.

I asked Grandmaster Ernesto this very question, and he told me that Modern Arnis, Professors system, is only part of the Kombaton.

ace

Master of Arts
Reaction score
So than Modern Arnis is in Ernesto's
Style this is verry interesting.
:jediduel: :jediduel: :jediduel:

Did they grow up together???
Primo

OP
D

DWright

I don't know if they grew up together or not. I do know that Professor left home at an early age, 14 I believe, and traveled the islands. I have always heard that he was alone.

As for Modern Arnis being part of Ernesto's system, he told me that himself. The basics were almost the same, but once he moved on the the intermediate and advanced techniques it was all new. He also had siniwalis that I had never seen.

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The Kombaton sinwallis are impressive... At the WMAA camp last May, Rick Manglinong went over some of the Kombaton concepts and sinwallis. I found the double stickwork to be very impressive.

(then again, I impress easy.) :)

Dieter

Brown Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score