Remy and Ernesto Presas and Kendo

billc

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am currently studying Dekiti Tirsia Sirada Kali, a sword based FMA, but I origially started out in Modern Arnis and my instructor is also ranked in Kombatan and has a lot of experience with modern arnis. I am curious about an incident involving Remy and Ernesto Presas when they went to Japan, and I was wondering what the Modern Arnis community might know about it. I have been told that when they went to Japan, they were scooped up by some friendly police and taken to the police academy to fight against some of their police cadet, kendo students. Does anyone know more details about this story? Thanks.

Datu Tim Hartman

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Don't have much more than that, other than Remy smoked everyone. This is 3rd hand information, so I'm unsure on the accuracy.

Mark Lynn

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Like Datu Hartman I only heard about it through 3rd hand sources

I believe this was part of Remy's goodwill ambassador tour in the early 70's where he went around and promoted the Philippines and demonstrated the FMAs (or Modern Arnis). He took GM Ernesto with him to Japan to demonstrate.

I think I heard something about GM Remy disarming the guy, but it was a long time ago that I heard about it and I'm not sure.

In one of Ernesto's books I believe there is a picture of him (maybe it was Remy) posing with a guy in a kendo uniform and it mentions something about the Japanese police. But it didn't go into any detail about the training.

When we had GM Ernesto here for a seminar in 2002 after the seminar he worked with us on different things and he showed us some sword forms (katas) or maybe it was just drills. He told me (us) he studied Kendo while in Japan.

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
From 'Modern Arnis Philippine Martial Art "Stick Fighting" ' aka the "Pink Book",