Red belt blues

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hiya all.

I read a book on "Teaching Martial Arts." I don't remember who it's by, sorry. I'll look it up and get back to you. Anyways, they said that some females, at some time, have doubts about their training. I think I'm at that point.

In my case, I don't want my black belt (red is just before black in TKD) till I KNOW I can back it up somehow (just short of going on the street and finding out LOL). I don't just want the rank (this is kinda weird for a TKD student huh? .... sorry, bad joke). Anyone that has read the book knows what I'm talking about.

I have defended myself in the past, but it was against a skinny punk, and I basically took care of him. I was thinking at work today, about this guy who works with me if he attacked me. He's about 250lbs, and all muscle. Big guy. How would I do against an attacker like him? I'm 150bls, and I've been training for 4 years, but would that be a match against a body builder freak intending to do harm?

What do you all think? Oppinions?

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
I suspect you would get hurt. Black belt is not a vest of invincibility, but rather a road-marker as to where one is with respect to their progress in a given system. You could, concievably, get to 10th degree black belt, know what there is to know about your system and perform/execute it's techniques flawlessly, and still get tooled in a knock-down/drag-out brawl.

Pursue your goals because the hobby brings you pleasure. Even ripping bad-arses have off days, and are vulnerable depending on circumnstance. Everybody can get shot, effortlessly. Anyone can get cold-c o c k e d. Just train, have fun, and hope you'll never actually need to test yourself. Sometime winning is more traumatic on the mind than losing is on the body.

Regards,

Dave

jfarnsworth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score