• Very possible in one year

• Training time would be half 2-3 years

• More likely to be 3-4 years

• The 5 year plan

Results are only viewable after voting.

Kempojujutsu

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Here is a question that I have been pondering. Let say someone has a black belt in style A and they decide to study Martial Art B which is similar (kata's /forms are different) Would it take someone one who already has a black belt the same amount of time to receive a black belt in Style B. As it would someone just starting out in the Martial arts. I believe someone could study a second art and it could take half or less the time. Now I know there are different variables to each art. The amount of training time is the most deciding factor. But your average martial artist would trains 2-3 days in a dojo and does maybe sometime at home.

T

tonbo

Well, you probably could argue that you could fly through material and get your belt quicker than a total newbie. However, would you want to?

We get people who are Black belts in other styles that come in to take Kenpo from our school from time to time. We tell them all the same thing: you will pick the material up quicker than someone who has had no training, but it will still take a fair amount of time to get to Black in this style.

It's just the way it works out. If you want to truly train in the art, you should be willing to put in the time to get quality out of it, not just a new Black rank.

Just my opinion.

Peace--

Old Fat Kenpoka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
It depends: Are you talking about switching from Tang Soo Do to Tae Kwon Do? A talented, hard working indiviual could do it in a year. Are you talking about switching from Tae Kwon Do to Kenpo? Same individual would probably take 5 years. Or are you talking about switching from Kenpo to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu where it will probably take a shmoe like me at least 10 years.

bdparsons

Black Belt
Reaction score