Rapper wants to study martial arts

Mc Qoorbs

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Wassup all...Im new to this martial arts thing so bear with me...i have no idea of what i should look for in a teacher...as a matter of fact i dont even know what art im going to choose!I am 19 years of age(is it too late?)People have told me karate is the weakest art because it progresses so slowly...most have told me my best bet would be to study Capoeira because of its fast paced progress.

Recently i have been looking towards the path of Ninjitsu.Thing is i dont really know whether or not studying this art in the USA would be of any great benefit because im not sure of whether or not the traditions are still used or if they have been "americanized" to the point of the art missing some of its original validity.I also dont know any schools that teach it in the Los angeles area or what i should look for if i were to find one and make a visit.Does physical stature play a role in martial arts and effectivesness?

Stats:
6'0
very quick and agile-4.4 in 40yds

All comments and suggestions are appreciated.

Han-Mi

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I don't know anything about ninjitsu, so I'll stay away from that. Capoeria is not fast paced at all. In fact, it is quite unorthodox and relatively difficult to perform. Karate, is the pure form is not very easy to find anymore, most places advertise as karate, but are usually something different, karate is just an easy word to advertise to people who do not know the difference between styles. With your stature and athletic ability, I would place you for TKD, thai boxing or a similar art. And you're never too old to start, there are students in my class that are over 40 and just recently began. Of course plenty of tall people have had success in Kenpo and kung-fu and plenty of other arts, but my knowledge is based in Tae Kwon Do with a little amount of training in various other arts.