R U amused??

MasterPistella

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I just made a comment about a friends youtube video with him doing that. I'm guilty too. Used to do it all the time, but finally broke myself of it.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm an Asian heritage instructor who has a slight Texas drawl. I'm sure that's funny in some quarters.

kungfu penguin

Green Belt
Reaction score
dancing: george cho korean with a georgian accent great comic one of his best is called Whats that clickin noise?

kungfu penguin

Green Belt
Reaction score
Dancing : George Cho a korean comic with a georgian accent hilarious one of his best shows was called whats that clickin noise

Reaction score
This IS a fun topic...
I can recall a testing at KJN C.I. Kim's dojang back in 1984. KJN Hwang Kee and H.C. Hwang were also present. A Somdan member, James Holt was issuing the commands to the candidates and KJN C.I. Kim stopped him and stated; I speak good Korean and I don't even know what you are saying!!!

Mr. Holt was trying to use a heavy Korean accent and none of us could understand him

I think that this is a common issue, as we all learn the Korean terminology, but not all learn it from a Korean. If you are reading it off of a terminology sheet you will pronounce the words differently then someone that hears the words spoken by someone who has Korean as their first language.

I learned Korean first, from an African-American instructor with a unique accent and way of pronouncing his Korean words. When I became a student to KJN C.I. Kim I was an Eedan and thought that I could speak and understand the Korean terminology well. I learned very quickly that I had NOT learned Korean at all, according to the response that I got from KJN C.I. Kim.