Question..?

Kensai

Black Belt
Reaction score
I've seen a similar question posted elsewhere on the site, although I forget where exactly. I'm thinking of starting ju-jitsu to complement my Wing Chun. I'm no beginner to either, but I'm also no expert. I don't think I'd have a problem incorporating them together, but I think I'd be able to use them when one may not work in one situation, another may. Does anyone forsee any problems/issues with this?

All helpful thoughts welcome.

Cheers,

K

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
Kensai said:
Does anyone forsee any problems/issues with this?

Only with those whose opinions differ from yours. Cross training is good to understand the how and why others do what they do. Learn from everyone.

Danny T

OP
Kensai

Kensai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Danny T said:
Only with those whose opinions differ from yours. Cross training is good to understand the how and why others do what they do. Learn from everyone.

Danny T

Good point. I'm hoping it will be an enlightening experience. One thing I've noticed is that you can be a great WC fighter against someone who knows WC, but will you be that same fighter against a judoka, or BJJ guy, and conversely, the same applies to them. You may be able to pull off brilliant throw against your regular training partner in that art, but can you pull it off against someone trying to throw a whole bag of punches at you.

I was only wondering, as I think some people had made the point that it may cause confusion when learning one style to the next, although, that said, I'm not sure you can get much different between WC and jitsu? Fair to say or no?

Just a thought. Thanks for the post Danny.

Cheers,

K

ed-swckf

Black Belt
Reaction score
Kensai said: