question from a karate person

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
yeah...3rd dan at 15 years old is just silly...in my tkd school you can't even reach 1st dan until your 15...every one younger is a poom or junior black belt

OP
X

XxTKDPenguinxX

I'm new to MT here and would first of all like to say "Hi All!"

Anyways. There is a great deal of TKD schools and orginizations out there. WTTU, WTF, STF, ATA, KTA, etc,etc,etc. This doesn't count the small dojangs out there with the little business who's independant and teaching pure traditional stuff.
It matters a great deal on the instructors of each school to know who is ready and who is not. In my school, I must admit, I have seen several students receive a black belt when I did not feel it was truly earned. I'm old school, mind you, and my ideas on this matter are not in consideration since I do not own the school, merely help instruct others.
With a background in karate, and now training in TKD, I believe that it all depends on the student's progression. To say that someone with a natural ability to absorb allthe information and techniques should not receive a black belt before a certain alloted time is a crime in itself (save for the youngsters out there who don't have the capability to be responsible enough (and I know a few that are)).
I received my 1st degree black belt almost two months ago. Bumps, bruises, blood, sweat, and even tears earned me that belt. I have accomplished myself, over and over, within the school and the orginizations (ranked in the top two for my state in one catagory or another).
So, as it was stated perfectly... Please do not place all TKD people in the same ring. It's all about the individual here. There are times I can beat a higher rank and times I can not. There are other styles I have competed against and won, and lost. It will depend greatly on how the person whom holds the rank will; practice, strive, learn, retain information, cares, or not cares.

Raewyn