Question for USTA folks...

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Let me first say that I do not study TKD.

I was working today with a guy I have never worked with before, and we got to discussing martial arts. He said that he was a 1st Dan Assistant Instructor from the USTA and used to have his own school. No problems thus far, right?

Then he said that it was part of his "duties" to go around, school to school, in "civilian clothes," to observe other martial arts schools, take notes on "what they were doing wrong," and come up with plans to block them out of the martial arts business community in that area (by deliberately opening schools nearby and drawing away business).

Perhaps this could be chalked up to aggressive business practices, but does this sound unethical to anyone else? :confused: This seems more in keeping with McDojo/McKwoon/McDojang behavior than with a respectable martial arts institution...

Any input? Not trying to start a flame war, I was just very surprised that this individual made such comments freely and openly, and seemed to believe they were good business practice.

Just curious...

:samurai: :samurai:

D

Danny

IMHO Ethical problems start as soon as your school becomes a buissness first and starts being a club second.

tarabos

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
i've gone to check out other schools in my area that could be considered "competition," but i've never gone in undercover. i've always told the people there who i was and basically just told them i was interested in what they were doing there and was just checking the place out, which was the truth.