question for systema students

brokenbonz

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I was a martial artist for years, I experimented with taekwondo, kickboxing, karate, arnis and wrestling and stopped practice due to a car accident (broke 4 ribs and compressed a spinal disk) and was looking to get back to practice. Would systema be a good style to break myself back in again?

Mark Jakabcsin

Green Belt
Supporting Member
Reaction score
bb,
You will have to answer that question for yourself. Only you can decide if a system is right for you given your history, goals, motivation and desires. I suggest trying it out and seeing how it fits. Best of luck.

Take care,

Mark J.

Tbone_trex

White Belt
Reaction score
All I would like to say is that I have been introduced to many arts over the last 17 years and hold a shodan in shotokan karate and a 1st kyu in shorin ryu, I personally think that Systema is by far the most practical and effective "Systema" out there. Now keep in mind this coming from someone that has never once attended a seminar or training camp with Vladimir, however I do have his dvd and have many friends that have first hand experience training with Vlad. This is a "Systema" for anyone of any age, you know your limits and abilities. Any martial art out there will test both, know where to draw the line, find a reputable instructor and not some yahoo that claims to be affiliated with this association or that one lots of instructors have what I would call a black belt in mouth but anyone that is a true martial artist knows that a belt just holds your pants up, true skill is what really matters, no matter which art you decide to train in good luck!! I personally know what it's like to overcome an injury and bounce back.

RachelK

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Of course, you should check with your doctor before beginning physical exercise of any sort, to make sure that you will not interrupt the healing process.