Quality of Instruction

indydave

White Belt
Reaction score
I am new here and I am seeing a lot of posts about hapkido "belt factories". I agree this is a problem. So my question is this... Of all the Hapkido groups, federations, associations etc... which one(s), if any, do people feel hold their schools accountable for high quality training. I have no experience outside of Master Myung's WHF which am currently apart of (and enjoy). Thanks!

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
I can't really answer your question with any current knowledge. I think a lot of your answer has to come from individual schools and teachers. I haven't been active in learning or teaching for a long time. Therefor, I really don't know what is going on with Hapkido, or other MA except what I read here. Back then, I accepted my GM's teaching and didn't really care what anyone else did or said. Now that my GM is deceased and his son is too far away, it is all a moot point to me.

If you find a good school/instructor, stay with them and learn well.

Kong Soo Do

IKSDA Director
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The one that doesn't charge a great deal of money, has high standards (read no nine year old 3rd Dans running around), has first hand knowledge of the person being tested, hasn't been used as a good-ole-boy club to provide rank-shopping, doesn't promote to BB after one weekend's worth of training and provides instruction that would actually work in a real fight (read doesn't have the 'attacker' punch one foot to the side of the 'masters' head and leave the arm hanging there so it can be grabbed). And one that the GM had more than 16 years of training before becoming a GM in their mid-20's.

Good luck on the search...

Daniel Sullivan

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score