Qigong / Chi_Kung

shifu

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Who here practices or utilises Qigong / Chi-Kung in that of their martial or healing arts?

If so, how do you apply this practice to your art or healing aspects?

Does Qigong / Chi-Kung have any relevance to the martial arts if so why?, if not, why?

As always, interested in your thoughts.

kaizasosei

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
i've had plenty of experience with cma as a youngster in canada. i had some great friends that introduced me to many aspects of chinese culture, including food, writing, abacus, chigung. i got into martial arts in a major way and was starting to take a liking to ninjutsu and japanese sword arts but generally like most martial arts and was open.

i trained much. i achieved many childhood goals like doing the splits, pulling off various flips on the floor and off surfaces-i also was into breakdancing and would also watch breakers from japan or korea.

when i moved to europe at age 17, i was physically stronger than i am now and my flexibility was good.
thing is i never practiced much anymore. i started going out and smoking. except for some occasional running after busses, freestyling climbing or showing off or getting in fights, my lifestyle was not that great for martial arts. even visiting japan i never practiced more than one kendo lesson.
my physical state was deteriorating. however, it wasnt only deteriorating, it was solidifying. the forms i chose when young because of certain injuries and trying to achieve maximum power and speed- actually, the only form i could use because of the injuries. also i had this reoccuring injury right knee ligament practically the whole time...it kept flaring up every time i overexerted or over stretched.

when i had become, i think 26 or something like that, i realized that i was in bad shape...i decided to take up takedabudo just for fun because i was not only in bad physical shape, but i also was in bad life and mental state.