Punch bag workout

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Turn your hips, followed by your shoulders, and move your head. Keep your elbows in tighter.

I’ve been meaning to record myself on the bag. I haven’t recorded it since last year. Then I’m going to figure out how to post it and keep the idiots and keyboard warriors from starting a race war and MA vs MMA war in the comments section. I’m sure there’s a way to disable them though.

Video is great in that it doesn’t lie. Thanks for putting yourself out there. It inspires me to join the crowd.

Edit: I was going to say more movement and follow through on your punches, but this could be from you waiting for the bag to return/stop moving so much.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Here's a video I made some time ago and posted on MT. Nothing interesting until the very end (7:17 or so), showing how I turn my hips before the punch. Notice I do not lead with my shoulders. I am far from an expert, but I believe my technique here is passable.

OP
M

MA_Student

Black Belt
Reaction score
Turn your hips, followed by your shoulders, and move your head. Keep your elbows in tighter.

I’ve been meaning to record myself on the bag. I haven’t recorded it since last year. Then I’m going to figure out how to post it and keep the idiots and keyboard warriors from starting a race war and MA vs MMA war in the comments section. I’m sure there’s a way to disable them though.

Video is great in that it doesn’t lie. Thanks for putting yourself out there. It inspires me to join the crowd.

Edit: I was going to say more movement and follow through on your punches, but this could be from you waiting for the bag to return/stop moving so much.
Yeah plus the fact I barely have any space to move lol

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score