Protocol Question

40th Alabama

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I studied TKD Moo Duk Kwan in the late 60's and 70's and earned the rank of 1st Dan. Life (school, kids and job) took over my life and I drifted away from the martial arts. I am now 65 years old and have an opportunity to start training again. I have found a school to attend, have watched classes, etc., and have been accepted into the school-I start training next month. The forms this school learns are different from those I learned with the exception of Korio. The one steps appear to be the same. I will have to learn all of these things again. Although I am not as flexible as I once was, I believe that my fundamentals are still pretty good. My question-when I start training what belt should I request to wear? I would really like to be able to practice with the advance class which is green, red and black. Your feed back would be welcome.

Also, I am very proud of having received my black belt from the Korean that trained me initially. He is now retired and golf is his game. What are your thoughts on how I might re-achieve black belt status without receiving a belt from a new instructor? Or, does it matter?

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yeah, these things can be tenuous, depending on the school and the instructor.

How about going in wearing a white belt until you're told to wear something else? 30 years is a long time, after all, and you kind of are starting again. If your new instructor asks you about it, tell him you'd love to wear your black belt, but it has been so long, etc. If you come to the situation with humility I think your chances of practicing with the class you wish to train with could be better.

Or - you could just ask the head instructor what you *should* be wearing and go from there.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score