Pregnant Yak tries TKD........

Flatfish

Black Belt
Reaction score
Alrighty, this is the first time I videoed myself training.....ugh

Bit of background:

Started TKD at 43 with my kid, have been at it for a bit more than 2 years. We usually attend class twice a week and I slip in a sparring class whenever I can. I have some perpetual trouble with my left knee which has been flaring us since last week and my hip flexibility is $%$$%^&!!! I have been doing the heavy bag workout thing for about 3 months twice a week.

Watching this was quite enlightening. Here are some of the things I noticed.
1) I still push my punches too much. Every once in a while I get it right but not consistently.
2) My round kicks look like ******. I know my left leg is horrible and I have been working on it but still a ways to go. Because of my bum left knee, I was having trouble pivoting to the left when doing a right leg round kick. This might be why those look so bad or they could generally be that bad....I'll find out when my knee is better I guess.
3) I do not move around the bag enough...too stationary.
4) I will definitely record myself more often to see if I'm making progress.

I'm sure there are many other things I'm not doing right.

I will show this vid to my instructor as well to get her input but I thought I'd post it up here as well to hopefully get some meaningful suggestions.

I probably won't leave the video up for too long. I have some music vids on my youtube channel that might be more pleasing for people to watch than an overweight, middle aged mall ninjer :p.

Go have at it.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'd agree with your self assessment, but bearing in mind that you've only been training for a couple years, it's not terrible.
If I could get you to change two things, it would be these:
1 - Control your hands. When you kick, you're not keeping any guard whatsoever. Your hands just sort of flail around wildly.