Practicing Self Defense for Beginners

Krista

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a beginner and am just learning some of the basic punches/kicks etc. I was wondering what the best way is to practice the things I'm learning. Is it important that I get access to a standing punching bag? Are there other things (wall-mounted mats, etc) that might work? My local gym doesn't have punching bags, so I'd need to pay extra at a different gym to use them.

How important is it to practice with resistance?

Thanks!
Krista

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hi Krista,
Welcome to MT.

When we talk of self defence most of SD is avoiding fighting so I'm assuming that you're not really talking of self defence but of developing some basic fighting skills in case all else fails.

Are you training with an instructor or are you trying to develop these skills by yourself? If you have an instructor then I would be asking him/her about your extra training, and if you haven't got an instructor, instead of paying for access to a different gym, I'd be putting the money into some private tuition.

Shai Hulud

Purple Belt
Reaction score
It's best that you study an organized system/school (such as Krav Maga, Systema, Silat, Kung Fu, Karate, etc.) under a proper instructor. I would not advise just arbitrarily studying techniques left and right without an organized curriculum to guide you.

I could mention a wide range of equipment that would help you a great deal at this point. Punching bags, focus pads, wall mounted mats, resistance bands, even kettle-bells, sledgehammers, jump-rope and free weights. But to identify which ones you will need exactly, you will need to choose an art to study properly. :)

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
welcome to MT.
as others have asked are you in a school/system already

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MT, Krista!