power in lead punch

hungfistron

Green Belt
Reaction score
I feel I get the most power from a forward moving lead straight or jab when using the push shuffle footwork - that is pushing off with the rear leg and trying to land the punch before my lead foot lands.

This may have been a given, but I thought I'd mention it just in case.

Sounds like you are doing it correctly, the way it was taught by Bruce thats why you feel it. Took me a while to understand this basic technique, and I'm still learning....

gino

White Belt
Reaction score
I am sorry fellas I disagree with most of you...
first off...you are not relaxed...you r ready..there is a difference...your muscles are half tense and half relaxed....
its easier to learn if yu look away from your target... have your body lined up almost but turn your head a little bit..so the bag is in your peripherial... NOw dont try to hit it hard,its speed your workin on ..not power...power comes from speed.. and from body movemnet..but you have to lean to hit it VERY fast in order to learn to direct ant kind of real power...try to hit it the bag like 4-5 times in a row in an exact location without even thinkin about it..with "just" the lead hand...
Always keep your elbow as far ponited down as u can...if your elbow comes up at all even in the extension of the punch ,you r doin it wrong..when extended you should feel the pullin in your lower triceps just a little bit..
when u first start to learn,you feel the lateral muscle doin most of the work...especially when u throw numerous jabs at a time......this is GOOD.>
this is where you want your power to begin,and then it finishes in your rear foots big toe.. you do not lift your foot at all...you twist your body to get all the power from the very short punch you r throwin...(its only short in sense cause your arm should only be moving about a foot,but with your arm always hanging out there in your opponents face its really a long range attack)...