Please help me understand

Joe1957

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi, New posting member but, read allot of your information presented in here but, still have a question. This really is not a, what sword to purchase question, well kinda anyway.
Please excuse any improper descriptive wording as I am new to this interest.

What I'm looking for here....

I am amazed by and interested in Samurai, Japan, and especially the history about both. I am NOT interested in cutting but, am interested in the Iaido Kata. I am trying to gain as much info and want to start practicing this form, mostly for the history but, also to gain something too. (not really sure what yet, maybe peace, relaxation????? it hasn't come to me yet, hopefully it will as I understand more).

ANYWHO. To start, when reading these forums I see "always ask the advice of your dojo or sensei." In my area, upstate NY, after looking through the whole WWW, can't locate any one in my area who teaches this art. So, trust me I would go to him or her for advice, training and so on.
I have a bokken but, it just does not give me what I want, the proper drawing and re-sheathing, so on.. I do have to self teach myself and so my question is not about a particular sword but, why can't an inexpensive iaito be used in this gentle art?
I always see responses here that say "that sword would not be allowed in my dojo" and for certain arts, Iaido, do NOT understand this.
Unless I am well off based here the Kata's are not really,,,,,,,, can't find the words so, ,,,dangerous to yourself or others around. Seems in this instance and 200 dollar practical sword (UNSHARPTENED) would work out.
I do understand if I wanted to go further with something else, maybe cutting or 2 person kata, safety is a concern and more proper equipment would be needed.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong, and I hope you all understand where I heading on this.
Thanks, Joe

Tanaka

Purple Belt
Reaction score