Overkill

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
If we look at a good portion of the techniques in the Kenpo and Kajukenbo systems, we see some pretty brutal stuff. Eye gouges, arm breaks, hits to the groin, etc. to name a few. In todays world, people don't hesitate to throw a law suit at you, even if they were in the wrong.

So, this brings me to my question: Do you feel that the techniques are too much? I'm not necessarily talking about the extensions, but the base technique itself. Do you think twice before you execute a technique? Do you modify anything so it fits into a lesser category of being brutal?

Thoughts?

Mike

14 Kempo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Yes, I believe in today's environment, some techniques go too far. I train with ECD. E=Evade. C=Control. D=Destroy. I try to work all my techniques through these three steps and you'll find a lot of them already as they are. It does take some modifications in other instances. I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding in CA law is that if a person is on thier back, they are of no threat and therefore can not be touched. We have many techniques that ground a person, but then they continue to kick, stomp and otherwise strike an opponent.

It is unfortunate that thugs can harrass a person, get thier butts handed to them, then turn around and sue ... absolutely rediculous, but real.

Kenpojujitsu3

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
If we look at a good portion of the techniques in the Kenpo and Kajukenbo systems, we see some pretty brutal stuff. Eye gouges, arm breaks, hits to the groin, etc. to name a few. In todays world, people don't hesitate to throw a law suit at you, even if they were in the wrong.