Opinions on different styles (for a newbie)

A

Akula

Greetings.

I want to start training in an art. I have no martial arts experience as yet, however I have done other items such as fencing (sabre and epee mainly), shooting, archery and a wide range of sports on a competitive level.

Through sports I've learned, sometimes the hard way, about how the mind can control your (and others') perception and perfomance more than your muscles can.

What I am looking for in an art:
1. To develop the 'mental game' further.
2. To provide a practical base for personal defense.
3. To be flexible in training as my work schedule or other items may interfere (or allow for more training sessions.)

What I'm looking for from you:
Your opinions on what particular style you feel might best suit me, without directly comparing your style(s) to others. I've read a decent amount of information and thought I would also open it up to you.

Currently I am available to train with others twice a week, and am serious about this pursuit, not just gathering more information.

I'm also new to the Phoenix, AZ area, so if you could name names and places, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Akula
Greetings.

I want to start training in an art. I have no martial arts experience as yet, however I have done other items such as fencing (sabre and epee mainly), shooting, archery and a wide range of sports on a competitive level.

Through sports I've learned, sometimes the hard way, about how the mind can control your (and others') perception and perfomance more than your muscles can.

3. To be flexible in training as my work schedule or other items may interfere (or allow for more training sessions.)

Your opinions on what particular style you feel might best suit me, without directly comparing your style(s) to others. I've read a decent amount of information and thought I would also open it up to you.