Ongoing motivation for studying martial art craft

kenc.sdq

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello fellow MT members,

This has been on my mind for sometime, but need to know what are or were your motivation/reasons to continue with your martial arts training? I have been training for six months but going to take a month off due to not having the mental strength at the moment. I have been taking up Filipino MA if asked.

MA_Student

Black Belt
Reaction score
Not any real motivation. I just do it. Just like I wake up and have breakfast it's just part of what I do

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hello fellow MT members,

This has been on my mind for sometime, but need to know what are or were your motivation/reasons to continue with your martial arts training? I have been training for six months but going to take a month off due to not having the mental strength at the moment. I have been taking up Filipino MA if asked.
i don't understand the " mental strengh" deficit thing,

there are two over lapping reasons for most things, one) you have,an objective you want to achieve, two) you enjoy it

if you have both of those, it all flows, one or the other and you can get by, nether and you need to find something else, a month off won't,change any of that

Last edited:

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello fellow MT members,

I train because I do not like how I feel if I miss a night.

DanT

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I agree with what everyone's said so far. It's just what I do. It makes me happy. It's who I am.

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
It starts as fun, a fascination, a hobby. Then it becomes something more, a lifestyle maybe, an occupation for some of us.

Then it's pure China White. No cut. And you are fricken' doomed. Doomed, I tell ya!

Martial D

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello fellow MT members,