On Hitting First

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice. Just my opinion. I have a background in law enforcement, but I am not a cop either and have not been one for a very long time.

An old saying in karate is that there is no first strike in karate. Many people interpret this in many ways, but some people believe it means you have to wait to be attacked before you can respond. That's not how I interpret it.

I actually follow the laws of self-defense of most US states, including Michigan, where I live. Typically, the laws of self-defense have nothing to say about who hits first. The law doesn't care. The law also doesn't care if you have martial arts training or not.

Many of us who were raised in the USA may have had certain 'rules' instilled in us by our parents or by society.

1) Don't hit first.
2) If you have to fight, fight fair.

What that typically means is that as kids, we are expected not to initiate a fight, but if we have to fight, we don't pull hair, kick in the testicles, bite, pick up weapons, etc, etc. We are expected to square off, punch punch, maybe bloody up a nose or lip, shake hands, and move on. Hey, nice morals, I'm all for it!

But that's not self-defense. That's schoolyard fighting. Very different in most circumstances.

So what is self-defense and when can you do it?

Self-defense laws in western nations commonly descend from Roman Law, which during the time of Justinian were "vim vi repellere licet," meaning 'it is permitted to repel force with force'.

So, do you have to wait for an aggressor to swing on you before you can defend yourself?

Normally, no.

In most jurisdictions in the US (and perhaps in many other nations), the threat of force is itself force.