Okinawan Sword?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I asked this previously in another forum, but: Is there an Okinawan sword? I have never seen one but believe on general principles that there must have been one.

T

TLH3rdDan

I have been studying and collecting swords for a many years and as far as I know okinawa is the only place that has never developed a sword of some kind I believe it has to do with the fact that they have almost always been ocupied by either china or japan and were under strict rule by them. but it is a very interesting question.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by TLH3rdDan
I have been studying and collecting swords for a many years and as far as I know okinawa is the only place that has never developed a sword of some kind I believe it has to do with the fact that they have almost always been ocupied by either china or japan and were under strict rule by them. but it is a very interesting question.

Okinawa wasn't occupied by China, per se, but the Okinawans paid homage and tribute to China until the Japanese invasion. Early Okinawan culture is predominately influenced by the Chinese until (and for a bit after) the Japanese invasion.

By extension, any swords on Okinawa would most likely be versions of Chinese swords, and later, Japanese swords, as the Japanese enforced their culture onto the Okinawans.

Cthulhu

OP
A

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by TLH3rdDan
I have been studying and collecting swords for a many years and as far as I know okinawa is the only place that has never developed a sword of some kind

Fascinating! The fact that they were always under the effective control of either China or Japan may well be part of the reason why. How were there metal-working skills in general I wonder?

T

TLH3rdDan