Ok,... I will ask a stupid question

Hudson69

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I have been out of EPAK for a long time now; about 15 years. Back when I was "in" it I made my way up through Black but maybe it was my school(s) but grappling was never a part of the training, we didn't even do much in the way rolls or break falls.

So my question is: Is grappling something new to Kenpo Karate or was it just left out of my training at instructor discretion a decade and a half ago?

girlbug2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Not a stupid question at all. When I started training EPAK over 5 years ago what you describe was still the case...don't know if EPAK has evolved in recent years to include more groundfighting, as I quit training it myself 3 years ago. I am also curious about that.

Answers, anybody?

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
It isn't there, yet, it is there. Much like facing North, or West, if you can do a technique while vertical, you can do it, while horizontal. Just because your situation changes, your skills don't.

LuckyKBoxer

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
my opinion is that the framework has been there to explore it, the concepts and principles in the art transfer over to groundfighting as well, adn have in my opinion vastly accelerated my understanding of grappling. But I think it has never really been actively covered as a whole.. The whole concept of Kenpo has been to stay mobile, stay in control of your own body and movement, and leave options open as you address problems... once you go the ground and are actively engaged and wrapped up with an opponent you lose alot of freedom and break some of the cardinal rules of Kenpo.
I think as grappling has become more and more popular many kenpo schools have added curriculum and "answers" since 1993 and have sowly been evolving into a full range art..
that is my opinion as an educated insider/outsider

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score