Not losing weight, getting fitter

blindsage

Master of Arts
Reaction score
So I'm somewhat overweight for my size and frame and I definitely need to lose some weight, but I'm less concerned with weight per se than I am with being healthier and more fit. I do MA 2-3 times a week and am doing P90X in the mornings (modified because you know, I'm not them, yet). I'm adding in a Tabata set once a week of (I'm calling them) squat presses, squats with 20lbs. dumbells at the shoulder and a shoulder press at the top of the squat. I've been working on my diet, but just eating healthier in general, no specific diet method. More whole grains, less (to eventually no) fast food, plenty of protein and vegetables.

Here's my dilemma, I've been doing this for over 6 months and I haven't seen any real weight loss. I'm gaining muscle, my wife says I'm slimmer in the middle (and I'm down a notch on my belt), I have more energy, but I'm a little concerned that I haven't lost any weight. I've got a decent sized belly and I'm concerned about the long term health risks it represents.

Does anyone have any insight as to whether I'm missing something here, or if I just need to be more patient with the process?

Ken Morgan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Bodybuilders generally never use a scale, (obviously if they know they're going to be close for their weight class, yes), anyway. I wouldn't worry about it to much sounds like you're on the right track. Muscle burns more calories then fat.
I would look at my diet and eliminate another 100-200 calories a day that you don't need. Sugar in your coffees? Breads? any junk at all? Butter? You get the idea and see what happens.
You need to play with you diet and see what works for you though.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Definitely be patient.