No Training ... got laid off. Help!

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hiya all.

Well, this is the situation for me. I got laid off from my job. I can't afford to train at the dojang. What do I do? I can train on my own, but I'm new at the ITF TKD style, eventhough I have been training a few years (6 years). I don't wanna stop, but I can't afford training ... this sucks.

Have you guys been in this situation? What did you do? Or delt with it?

Please help.

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
You would be surprised at what you can afford. I would check the community education programs in your area. When I was a teenager, I took judo for next to nothing...I can't imagine that kind of thing is extant in your area.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Talk to your instructor. Some instructors will be willing to work with you about payment; some won't. Also, some facilities (especially YMCAs and community recreation centers) are less expensive to begin with, and some also provide scholarships based on income. But if you don't ask, you'll never know.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
karatekid please talk to your instructor maybe he or she will let you clean the dojang a couple of times a week for training most will especially since you was laid off.

ajs1976

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I recently had to take some time off, although it wasn't for financial reasons. I didn't have a lot of time, but I tried to work on the basics, some conditioning, and stretching. Eventually my situation got so hectic, that I didn't have time for that.

The others had good suggestions about talking to your instructor and looking into different programs. I know my local community center, YMCA, and community college all have programs. They don't might as often as a regular MA school, but they are considerably cheaper.

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni