Ninjitsu vs Aikido

K

Koga-Shinobi

Hey you'll, I know from reading a whole lot of other threads that comparisons of martial arts is a big no-no...I understand that, but being a beginner, I need some experienced help

You see, I'm looking to start a MA, and pretty much have narrowed my choices down to Aikido and Ninjitsu. Pretty starnge combination, since both almost have opposing philosophies from what I understand. Aikido being a very soft, defensive style and Ninjitsu being a hard, attacking, aggressive style.

What interests me from Aikido is the concept of using ones strength against himself (throws) and keeping opponents injury (serious) down (locks, pins, submissions)...being a fairly moral guy, I'm quite averse to leg breaking etc. plus there's the legal considerations.

However, I do enjoy being highly physical and feel that Ninjitsu would be more in my line, more stimulating...I understand that Aikido steers away from strikes...which I'd like to have in my armoury should a situation arise.

What would you recommend (with justification) for a 23 year old looking for a competitive, challenging MA for both self-defense reasons and for installing confidence in onself?

OP
K

Koga-Shinobi

Is it ninjitsu or ninpo? Saw a thread where someone said that the term ninjitsu is correct anymore...it's now ninpo? Whats the difference? The club I want to join is definitely a international Ninjitsu Federation..or so they claim?

What you think?:asian:

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
or so they claim?

They are not a traditional Ninjutsu school. There are only three remaining, all headed by Hatsumi sensein in the Bujinkan. Kumogakure ryu, Togakure ryu and Gyokushin ryu.