New to MA and have a question about knees

lonewof0323

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone I have a question about knee issues and TKD. I've never done an MA before and I've narrowed it down to TKD and BJJ. I'm 42 and have an issue with a knee that dislocates kind of easy. It pops out and right back in I was wanting to know if TKD would be alright with something like this and if anyone on here deals with something like this and what they do if they do TKD to try and minimize this. I really like the place but just worried about the knee thing. Thanks to anyone that answers me.

thanks again
Daniel

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi everyone I have a question about knee issues and TKD. I've never done an MA before and I've narrowed it down to TKD and BJJ. I'm 42 and have an issue with a knee that dislocates kind of easy. It pops out and right back in I was wanting to know if TKD would be alright with something like this and if anyone on here deals with something like this and what they do if they do TKD to try and minimize this. I really like the place but just worried about the knee thing. Thanks to anyone that answers me.

thanks again
Daniel

BJJ would be easier on your knees than TKD.

Plenty of guys at my gym have bad knees from wrestling or football, and they do just fine. They just have to wear braces.

I would imagine the high level of kicking required in TKD would be bad on your knees.

The DC

White Belt
Reaction score
I agree with Hanzou--TKD places lots of emphasis on kicks,and in advanced levels,in...well...more advanced kicks. I have occasional minor issues with my right knee (just soreness,swelling,etc,no damage to it other than 42 years of use and abuse-I'm 42 also :p ),even though it's minor,it feels major when it flares up during a kicking-drill session. Just my thoughts,I'm not in the medical field or any kind of expert,LOL,but I DO have knees and train in TKD.