New school

watching

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm still fairly new to my school and while I like it over all, there is someone in the beginner's class with me who I really dislike training with for a number of reasons. I've been involved in martial arts since I was eight years old so I have trained along side all kinds of people and consider myself to be tolerant and respectful. It baffles me why this person is training as he has been there close to two years and has only passed one belt test, is never able to perform the material, and hasn't shown improvement in the time I've been there.
I guess I'm just wondering if this is a bad sign that my school is too willing to accept anyone as long as they're willing to pay. I mean, this student isn't disrespectful or anything but it's frustrating to train with someone who has been there longer than I have yet can't do the material. I think I'm also wondering if it would ever get to a point that an instructor might ask a student to leave if no progress is being made.
I hope this makes sense and I'm not coming off as disrespectful.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Some people just don't progress at martial arts very fast. And yes you kind of are being judgemental.

By the way if a guy keeps turning up we will keep training him. That is the commitment. The school makes to the student. And the student makes to the school.

pdg

Senior Master
Reaction score
By who's opinion have they not shown improvement?

If it's your opinion, in what way are you qualified to judge?

I don't know how old you are, so saying you've been involved since you were 8 is pretty meaningless if you're 14. Even if you're 40, it still doesn't necessarily mean you've really absorbed anything...

If someone isn't progressing as fast as everyone else, why should the instructor tell them to leave if they're not being disrespectful or disruptive?