New Rank Earned

S

Shinzu

hey guys. i just wanted to let you know that on saturday september 21st i earned my second degree black belt in tang soo do.

the test lasted for 2 1/2 hours. it consisted of a 7 mile run (the week before the test), a written exam, two 500 word essays, multiple hand & foot combinations, flying kicks, forms (weapons & empty handed), one steps, self defense techniques (against a knife, a gun, and empty handed), free fighting (no gear, just a mouth peice and groin protector), and breaking.

there were only 4 of us testing. everyone did a fantastic job and deserves alot of credit.

i just figured i would spread the good news....

TANG SOO!

OP
A

Angus

Congratulations! Sounds like a pretty extensive test!

I'm curious, do you guys get two new belts upon black rank tests, or do you keep the same midnight blue and only recieve a new black? Sorry, I don't know nearly enough about TSD. :)

OP
S

Shinzu

originally i would have kept the same back belt until i reached 4th dan. but being that this school uses midnight blue instead of black i was presented with one of them at the test. white stripes are added to your belt to signify degrees.

at 4th dan you receive a midnght blue belt with a red stripe down the center of the entire belt. there are no stripes that are added to this belt though.

OP
A

artful dodger

Congratulations. What did you write your essays on?

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Congrads :) I wish, someday, to earn my BB in TSD. That's my dream (and to teach TSD). But I'll take TKD for now ;) Anyways, great job. Keep up the good work :)

OP
S

Shinzu

thanx for all the great feedback :)

i wrote my essays on "what is loyalty, and why is it important in TSD?" & "what is the difference from cho dan to e dan and what responsibilities come with it?"

these were the questions that my instructor gave to me. everyone's was different.

hey karatekid.... what ever happened with the shotokan school you were looking into?